IZoboi NJCTE Spring 2019The NJCTE Becker Award Committee is looking for members interested in joining our committee.  The Muriel Becker Award is the highest honor bestowed upon an author by NJCTE.  It has been given annually since the 1980’s to a writer deemed by the Becker Award committee to be someone who reflects the best of positive ideals that inspire young readers to high achievement. This definition is extended to include writers whose body of works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry or drama) have touched young adult readers, and those whose careers are just beginning to be recognized as exceptional. Recent winners include Ibi Zoboi, Jason Reynolds, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena.

If you are interested in joining the committee, please fill out this interest survey by June 26th. The committee will work virtually this summer; we encourage any members who regularly read children’s and young adult literature to get involved. We hope to have all work done before the school year begins! This is a great way to contribute to NJCTE and be involved in the organization! PD hours will be awarded for participation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s